1
Loading...

Baker explains avoiding common sourdough mistakes | Foodgeek Baking

Vote
42 42 views
1m Jul 24, 2021
G

When you first start out with making a starter and baking sourdough bread you will make a lot of mistakes. Learn how to avoid the most common sourdough mistakes.

Buy Foodgeek Merch: https://fdgk.net/buy-merch
Patreon: https://fdgk.net/patreon

Adlinks!
Essential Sourdough Baking Tools:

Baking Vessels:
Brovn (glass dome): https://fdgk.dk/buy-brovn
Cast Iron Combo Cooker: https://fdgk.net/buy-combo-cooker
Pyrex (or equivalent) glass dish: https://fdgk.net/buy-glass-dish
Enameled Roaster: http://fdgk.net/buy-enameled-roaster
Challenger Bread Pan: https://fdgk.net/buy-challenger-bread-pan-sourdough-mistakes

Bulking containers:
Cambro Container 6 qt/6 liter: https://fdgk.net/buy-cambro-container-6-qt
Cambro Container 4 qt/3.5 liter: https://fdgk.net/buy-cambro-container-4-qt
Cambro Container 2 qt/1.9 liter: https://fdgk.net/buy-cambro-container-2-qt
Cambro Lid 2qt/1.9 liter: https://fdgk.net/buy-cambro-lid-2-qt

Lames/blades/scoring:
Walnut Lame: https://fdgk.net/buy-walnut-lame
Razor blades: https://fdgk.net/buy-razor-blades
Cake turntable: https://fdgk.net/buy-cake-turntable

Starter:
Jars for your starter: https://fdgk.net/buy-weck-jars
Small spatula for starter: https://fdgk.net/buy-small-spatula

Banneton/proofing baskets:
Round Proofing Baskets: https://fdgk.net/buy-proofing-baskets
Oval Proofing Baskets: https://fdgk.net/buy-oval-proofing-baskets

Bowls:
Rosti Bowl: https://fdgk.net/buy-magrethe-bowls

Bread Knife:
Awesome Bread Knife: https://fdgk.net/buy-kasumi-bread-knife
Good Bread Knife: https://fdgk.net/buy-victorinox-bread-knife

Gloves:
Heat resistant gloves: https://fdgk.net/buy-heat-resistant-gloves

Baking pans:
Pullman Loaf Pan (small): https://fdgk.net/buy-small-pullman-loaf-pan
Pullman Loaf Pan (medium): https://fdgk.net/buy-medium-pullman-loaf-pan
Loaf Pan (medium): https://fdgk.net/buy-medium-loaf-pan

Miscellaneous:
Lodge Cast Iron Skillet: https://fdgk.net/buy-cast-iron-skillet
Mockmill Grain Mill: https://fdgk.net/buy-mockmill
Bench Scraper: https://fdgk.net/buy-bench-scraper
Baking Steel: https://fdgk.net/buy-baking-steel
Flour shaker: https://fdgk.net/buy-flour-shaker
Spray Bottle: https://fdgk.net/buy-spray-bottle
Pizza Peel: https://fdgk.net/buy-peel
Brød & Taylor Proofer: https://fdgk.net/buy-brod-and-taylor-proofer
Silicone Spatula: https://fdgk.net/buy-silicone-spatula
Stand Mixer: https://fdgk.net/buy-stand-mixer
Wire Rack: https://fdgk.net/buy-wire-rack
Precision Scale: https://fdgk.net/buy-precision-scale
Danish Dough Whisk: https://fdgk.net/buy-danish-dough-whisk

My Amazon store fronts:
US: https://fdgk.net/amazon_us
UK: https://fdgk.net/amazon_uk

Music:
Epidemic Sound: https://fdgk.net/epidemicsound

Guitars in the back:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster 3-Colour Sunburst
Fender Custom Shop Limited Relic Bigsby Telecaster
Martin DCPA3
Line 6 JTV-69

#experimenttime #opencrumb #sourdoughbread

Table of Contents

Timecode Title
00:00 Teaser
00:16 Intro
00:25 Introduction
00:36 Using a weak starter
01:09 Using the float test
01:53 Not using the windowpane test
02:43 Using whole grain and ancient grains
03:04 Under proofing or over proofing
03:54 Complicating things
04:38 Bake longer
05:27 Not using a dutch oven
06:10 Not using a baking steel
06:44 Closing thoughts

About Foodgeek

I love everything food, baking, slicing, dicing, kitchen gadgets, techniques, and chemistry. I love to figure out how things work and how to get the most flavor and beauty out of every ingredient. Join me in my quest for deliciousness.


0 Comments

Markdown is supported.